Free AT Webinars in May

All links open in a new tab:
Webinar. Shows thought bubbles with tech icons.

The Accessible Technology Coalition compiles this listing of free webinars from around the Web! Follow the ATC Facebook page for late additions.

Here are the free webinars for May 2018! Some require pre-registration. All are 1 hour long unless otherwise noted.

Free Webinars – Higher Ed, Adults and General

Hackers Making Assistive Technologies from AbilityTools
Wednesday, May 2nd at 2 pm Pacific, 5pm Eastern

Digital Accessibility of Educational Materials in Higher Ed from NCAEM
Thursday, May 3 at 6 am Pacific, 9 am Eastern

Introduction to Screen Readers from Deque
Thursday, May 17th at 10 am Pacific, 1 pm Eastern

Making Education Websites Accessible to People with Disabilities from Level Access
Tuesday, May 22nd at 11 am Pacific, 2 pm Eastern

Chrome Tools for Reading and Writing from the Assistive Technology Coalition
May 23rd, 4 pm Pacific, 7 pm Eastern.

The Basics of Creating Accessible Web Content from AbilityTools
Wednesday, May 23rd at 11 am Pacific, 2 pm Eastern

Appy Hour: Apps for Independent Living – Managing Money, Budgets, and Shopping from PACER
Tuesday, June 5 at 11 am Pacific, 2 pm Eastern

Free Webinars – K-12

AEM in the IEP: Where Do Accessible Materials and Technologies Fit? from NCAEM
Tuesday, May 1 at 11 am Pacific, 2 pm Eastern

Amazing Race: AAC implementation from AbleNet
Tuesday, May 1 at 12 pm Pacific, 3 pm Eastern

Chromebooks and Accessibility from CallScotland
Wednesday, May 2nd at 8 am Pacific, 11 am Eastern (30 minutes)

TouchChat App Overview from SETC
Tuesday, May 8 at 3:30 am Pacific, 6:30 pm Eastern

Student-Centered Planning: AT for an Enviable Life from Don Johnston
Wednesday, May 9 at 10 am Pacific, 1 pm Eastern

Improving reading and writing with Microsoft Learning Tools from SETC
Wednesday, May 9 at 3:30 am Pacific, 6:30 pm Eastern
Enhancing productivity with Windows 10 assistive technologies from SETC
Monday, May 14 at 12 pm Pacific, 3 pm Eastern

Webspiration Classroom: Brainstorm, Write, & Collaborate! from SETC
Monday, May 14 at 3:30 pm Pacific, 6:30 pm Eastern

Creating Inclusive and Engaging Content with Office 365 from SETC
Tuesday, May 15 at 12 pm Pacific, 3 pm Eastern

How Do I Determine How the Student Can Access Augmentative Communication? from AbleNet
Tuesday, May 15 12 pm Pacific, 3 pm Eastern

Assistive Technology: What it is and How to Use it from CTD
Wednesday, May 16th at 9 am Pacific, 12 pm Eastern

Implementing Core Vocab in a Life Skills Classroom from SETC
Wednesday, May 16 at 3:30 pm Pacific, 6:30 pm Eastern

All Aboard: Involving All in AAC from AbleNet
Tuesday, May 22, 12 pm Pacific, 3 pm Eastern

You May Have Missed

What’s new in WCAG 2.1 from AbilityNet
Assistive Technology Trends from CTD
AT That Supports Independent Living for Young Adults from PACER
AT Meets IT: Chromebooks and Chrome Browser from Oklahoma ABLETech

AT Resource Pick of the Month

Typically we offer a link to a video about assistive technology but this month it’s a terrific resource – a pdf about using an eye-gaze system in the classroom. Full disclosure – it’s sponsored by a company, Inclusive Technology (who does make an eye-gaze system), but the information is general and valuable. Check it out!